Centre for Synthetic Biology and the Bioeconomy

Staff Profile

Dr Henrik Strahl von Schulten

Senior Lecturer



  • Molecular and Cellular Microbiology theme lead (2023)
  • Senior Lecturer (2019)
  • Independent Research Fellow and Group Leader, Newcastle University (2014-2019)
  • Research Associate, Newcastle University, Group of Prof Leendert Hamoen (2007-2014)
  • PhD student, University of Osnabrück, Group of Prof Karlheinz Altendorf (2003-2007)


  • Dr. rer. nat. Microbiology, University of Osnabrück, Germany (2003-2007)
  • Dipl. Biology, University of Osnabrück, Germany (1997-2003)


Society for General Microbiology

British Society for Antimicrobial Chemotherapy


Honors and Awards

BBSRC New Investigator Award (2018)

Editorial Board, Microbiology (since 2018)

Newcastle University Research Fellowship (2015)

Faculty of Medical Sciences Research Fellowship (2014)

Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds PhD Fellowship (2004)



The research in our group focuses on bacterial cell envelope structures. Using a combination of cell biology, high-end fluorescent microscopy, genetics, and biochemistry, we study the lipid domain organisation of bacterial membranes using predominantly the Gram-positive model organism Bacillus subtilis. This research also extends to studying protein lipid -interactions and how membrane association is used to establish higher-level internal organisation within bacterial cells. This fundamental research is accompanied by more applied research lines aiming to understand the complex mode of action of cell envelope –targeting antimicrobials, and to discover new ones.

Current co-workers

Dr. Jess Buttress (post doc, BBSRC -funded)

Dr. Matthieu Blandenet (post doc, BBSRC -funded)

Maria Dakes Stavrakakis (PhD student, BBSRC - funded) 

Maddie Humphrey (PhD student, Barbour Foundation -funded)

Laura Dobby (PhD student, BBSRC -funded)

Taylor Wellfare Reid (PhD student, MRC -funded)

Alisa Mondry (Erasmus student)

Fran Davison (technician)


Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC), Medical Research Council (MRC), Barbour Foundation


Post docs:

Dr. Alan Koh

PhD students:

Dr. Sandra Laborda Anadon

Dr. Jess Buttress

Dr. James Grimshaw

Dr. Kenneth Holst Seistrup

Dr. Declan Gray

Dr. Laura Bohorquez Suarez (co-promoter, Amsterdam University)


Masters students:

Zi Qi Ng

Chris Duringer

Yong Jie Chen

Jessica Clark

Ethan Drury

Katie Pearson

Lauren Elliott

Natalie Vardy

James Donahue

Jan Derk te Winkel (Erasmus)

Stijn Peeters (Erasmus)

Tim Knetsch (Erasmus)


Undergraduate students:

Luc Eppie (BSc student)

Sameer Patil (BSc student)

Garoufallia Stavridou

Talia Peters

Nifemi Opasanya

Nadhir Bhunnoo

Saleena Lumbu

Zunera Baig

Alex-Rose Pogmore

James Donahue

Bethany Coley


Undergraduate Teaching

  • Teaching in BSc module BGM2061 (Protein Trafficking and Biological Membranes)
  • Supervision of undergraduate research projects

 Postgraduate Teaching

  • Teaching in MRes module MMB8016 (Molecular Microbiology, deputy module leader)
  • Supervision of Masters and PhD research projects