Athena SWAN

Celebrating Success in EDI

Staff and student achievements in promoting equality, diversity and inclusion

In December 2017, the Vice-Chancellor held the first Celebrating Success awards aimed at celebrating staff and student achievements in Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI).

Three awards are awarded on an annual basis:

  • Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Champion - Staff
  • Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Champion - Student
  • Outstanding Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative

Congratulations to our 2018 winners:

  • Outstanding staff - Kathryn Hollingsworth (Chair of NU Women) / Laura Brown (Chair of NU Women in Engineering)
  • Outstanding student - NUSU project team: 'It Happens Here'
  • Outstanding EDI initiative - CLU BAME Voices Project / NU TechNet

The nominations process opens in the summer and closes in the autumn.  For further details please contact the Dean of Diversity, Professor Judith Rankin.

Student award
Winners of the 2017 student award