Skip to main content

PGR Contacts

If you’ve got a question about our doctoral offering or research programmes, please contact the relevant team below.

Doctoral College Team

Nicky Houghton

Senior Student Policy Manager

Lesley Jackson

Doctoral College Strategy Manager

Karen Robb

Doctoral College Senior Assistant

You can contact us by email

Prospective Students

If you are a prospective student with a question about applying for a doctorate please vist our postgraduate admissions page for help.




Graduate schools contacts

Graduate School for the Faculties of HaSS and SAgE (Previously Research Student Support Team – RSST)

Level 6, Sir Henry Daysh Building
Newcastle University
Newcastle upon Tyne
United Kingdom


Phone number:  0191 208 8713

Graduate School for HaSS and SAgE Staff
  • Mr Ross Patterson - Graduate School Manager (HaSS)
  • Ms Elaine Urwin - Graduate School Manager (SAgE)
  • Mr Adam Hiles - Graduate School Team Leader
  • Ms Katherine Brown - Graduate School Co-ordinator (Registration and Progress)
  • Mrs Susan Sheehan-Watson - Graduate School Co-ordinator (Data and Reports)
  • Ms Hilary Skinner - Graduate School Co-ordinator (Examination)
  • Miss Rachel Jenkinson - Graduate School Assistant
  • Miss Niamh Twomey - Graduate School Assistant

Faculty of Medical Sciences Graduate School (FMSGS)

Level 3, Ridley Building 1
Newcastle University
Newcastle upon Tyne
United Kingdom

Reception opening times: Monday to Friday 9.00am to 4.00pm. 


Phone number: 0191 20 83048


  • Mrs Abby Davies - Graduate School Manager
  • Ms Janice Fuller - Faculty PGR Administrator  (PHSI)
  • Ms Beckie Hedley - Faculty PGR Administrator (TCRI)
  • Mrs Louise Campbell - Faculty PGR Administrator (NUBI)
  • Ms Charlotte Skelton - Faculty PGR Administrator (NUBI)
  • Ms Kim Walker - Faculty PGR Administrator (PHSI)
  • Ms Susie Curran - PGR Administrator (TCRI)

Deans of Postgraduate Research

Faculty of Medical Sciences                                  

Dr Tim Cheek, Dr Peter Gallagher (Deputy Dean), Dr Luke Gaughan (Deputy Dean)

Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering   

Dr Phillip Lord, Dr Nigel Thomas (Associate Dean)

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr Ian Biddle

Faculty Postgraduate Tutors

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences             

Dr Laura Leonardo

Faculty of Medical Sciences                                    

Dr Peter Gallagher

Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering     

To be confirmed

Faculty Researcher Development Programmes

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences email:

Dr Laura Leonardo (Programme Manager)

Ms Mandy Chambers (Education Assistant)

Faculty of Medical Sciences email:

Dr Richy Hetherington (Programme Manager)

Ms Holly Argent (Programme Assistant)

Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering email:

Dr Gail de Blaquiere (Programme Manager)

Ms Angela McLaughlin (Programme Assistant)