Skip to main content

University of Sanctuary


University of Sanctuary

Newcastle University aims to provide a welcoming place of safety for all.

Newcastle awarded University of Sanctuary status

Newcastle University aims to provide a welcoming place of safety for all and was awarded University of Sanctuary Status in June 2021.

We have a long-standing commitment to offering educational, research and engagement opportunities to people fleeing violence and persecution.

Here are some examples of our work and initiatives:

University of Sanctuary award logo

University of Sanctuary Working Group

  • Professor Peter Hopkins, Professor of Social Geography (co-chair)
  • Professor Judith Rankin, Dean of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (co-chair)
  • Professor Julie Sanders, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Dr Phil Ansell, Dean of Sport
  • Dr Malasree Home, University’s Race Equality Officer
  • Dr Matthew Prevett, University Faith and Spirituality Support Coordinator
  • Andrea Henderson, University Head of Engagement
  • Smajo Beso, Teacher in School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape
  • Francesca Speed, PhD student in Newcastle University Business School
  • Sukaina Ahmed, UG student in Biomedical Sciences
  • Rosie Tapsfield, Active Inclusion Officer (City of Sanctuary) Newcastle City Council
  • Bridget Stratford, North East Solidarity and Teaching (N.E.S.T.) Project Worker

University of Sanctuary application - December 2020